Share Button

Major trophies to Yarra Valley producers at Melbourne Wine Awards.

The Yarra Valley’s position as one of Australia’s leading fine wine regions was on display at the Melbourne Wine Awards held on Thursday 20th October 2016. Our wines performed well across the board highlighting the quality of wine and depth of talent we have in the region.

Leading the way was Punt Road Wines with three trophies and Seville Estate with one trophy. This caps off a very exciting two months, where earlier, Sarah Crowe, winemaker at Yarra Yering was awarded Winemaker of the Year by Halliday Magazine and Steve Flamsteed, winemaker at Giant Steps was awarded  Winemaker of the year by Gourmet Traveller Wine Magazine.

In addition to the four major trophies, wines from the Yarra Valley collected a total of 16 Gold Medals, 19 Silver Medals and 66 Bronze Medals.

As would be expected, Yarra Valley wines did particularly well in the Chardonnay and Pinot Noir classes.  An impressive 6 Gold, 8 Silver and 18 Bronze medals awarded to Yarra Valley wineries in the Chardonnay classes and an equally impressive 4 Gold, 3 Silver and 13 Bronze were to awarded to Yarra Valley wineries in the Pinot Noir classes.

Congratulations to all our winemakers for continuing to craft extraordinary wines. 31 Yarra Valley producers were awarded medals and they include:

Alkimi Wines, Boat O’Craigo, Chandon, Coldstream Hills, Coombe Yarra Valley, De Bortoli Yarra Valley, Elmswood Estate, Giant Steps, Helen & Joey Estate, Helen’s Hill, Innocent Bystander, Journey Wines, Little Yarra, Mandala Wines, Medhurst Wines, Oakridge Wines, Paynes Rise, Punt Road Wines, Rochford Wines, Santolin Wines, Seville Estate, Six Acres, Soumah of Yarra Valley, St. Huberts, Sticks Yarra Valley, TarraWarra Estate, Tokar Estate, Warramunda Estate, Yarra Yering, Yarrawood and Yering Station.

Major trophies include:

The Trevor Mast Trophy for Best Shiraz awarded to Punt Road for their Punt Road Napoleone Vineyard 2015 Shiraz

The Francois De Castella Trophy for Best Young White Wine awarded to Seville Estate for their Seville Estate 2015 Chardonnay

The Douglas Seabrook Trophy for Best Single Vineyard Wine awarded to Punt Road for the Punt Road Napoleone Vineyard 2015 Shiraz.

And The Kym Ludvigsen Trophy for Viticultural Excellence was awarded to Punt Road Wines and was accepted by their winemaker, Tim Shand.

All the results can be found on the Melbourne Wine Awards Website.

Connect With Us

Sign-up to receive wine news and
events straight to your inbox: